Places to Look for A Mother

Places to Look for A Mother

Book - 2002
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A poignant, funny, sometimes tragic mother-daughter relationship unfolds as Miriam Taylor tries to maintain her relationship with her two daughters as she dabbles in religion, ethnic identity, and a string of unsuccessful romances.

Perseus Publishing
In the tradition of Mona Simpson’s Anywhere But Here, Places to Look for a Mother tells a tale of mostly maddening mother-daughter bonds. Forgiveness is always there, but it’s hard to find. And Stansbury’s fractured Taylor family, led by the thoroughly eccentric matriarch, Miriam Taylor, usually loses it. With lithe prose, pitch-perfect dialogue, and gloriously real characters, author Nicole Stansbury conjures a family that proves Tolstoy right once again: All happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. The Taylors are no exception, but Places to Look for a Mother is an exceptionally good debut novel.

In the tradition of Mona Simpson's Anywhere But Here, Places to Look for a Mother tells a tale of mostly maddening mother-daughter bonds. Forgiveness is always there, but it's hard to find. And Stansbury's fractured Taylor family, led by the thoroughly eccentric matriarch, Miriam Taylor, usually loses it. With lithe prose, pitch-perfect dialogue, and gloriously real characters, author Nicole Stansbury conjures a family that proves Tolstoy right once again: All happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. The Taylors are no exception, but Places to Look for a Mother is an exceptionally good debut novel.


Blackwell North Amer
She's Miriam Taylor, Lucy and Jen Taylor's mother, and until the divorce, Bob Taylor's wife. A force of nature. To know her is to love her, to love her is to hate her. She's a woman who changes her name according to the ethnic flavor of the month, dabbles in Mormonism, and steals cleaning supplies from restaurant bathrooms. She is beautiful, excitable, contradiction as art form. She's the kind of mom who reads her daughter's diary, serves ketchup soup for dinner, and drags her girls from Utah to California to Wyoming in pursuit of one loser boyfriend after another. Her love for her daughters is fierce, smothering, neglectful. "There is no other way than her. Does that sound extravagant? Or should I say there is no other place than her," observes Lucy, the endearing narrator of this very special debut novel.
Places to Look for a Mother tells a tale of mostly maddening mother-daughter bonds. Forgiveness is always there, but it's hard to find. And the Taylor family usually loses it. With lithe prose, pitch-perfect dialogue, and gloriously real characters, author Nicole Stansbury conjures a family that proves Tolstoy right once again: All happy families are alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way. The Taylors are no exception of course: four people bound by blood and a unique emotional alchemy of love, loathing, and striving that resounds with echoes of all families everywhere.

Baker
& Taylor

Miriam Taylor tries to maintain her relationship with her two daughters as she dabbles in religion, ethnic identity, and a string of unsuccessful romances.

Publisher: New York : Carroll & Graf, 2002
Edition: 1st Caroll & Graf ed
ISBN: 9780786709786
0786709782
Characteristics: 313 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at NPL.

Try searching for Places to Look for A Mother to see if NPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top