Protected

Protected

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Sourcebooks Inc.

An inspiring and achingly honest story of a girl with the courage to endure, hope, and even heal in the face of unimaginable tragedy, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen's Just Listen.

When Hannah's sister dies in a car crash, she has to face some harsh truths:
1. Katie will always be fifteen, which means Hannah will become the older sister.
2. Hannah's life has somehow become easier after Katie's death. (No one wants to bully the girl whose sister died.)
3. Hannah's testimony about what happened in the car that day is the only thing standing between her father and a possible criminal conviction.

Through her storm of grief, guilt, and silent suffering, something unexpected happens. Hannah meets a potential friend, possibly her first. But as the pressure to remember the events of the crash in time for her father's trial comes to an all-time high, Hannah doesn't know if she has the strength to open herself up to friendship, not when it could be just another cruel joke. Because if it is, Hannah's not sure she can take it...

Praise for Protected:
"Zorn shows the devastating effects of bullying while affectingly tracing Hannah's spiritual journey, coming to terms with truths she doesn't want to face and learning how to trust. " —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
"Though the book tackles important issues, it reaches far beyond these flash points into a fully developed exploration of the aftermath of tragedy through strong characterization and genuine emotional appeal."—Kirkus, Starred Review



Publisher: Naperville, Illinois :, Sourcebooks Fire,, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781492660910
Characteristics: 276 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
KMJ_
Dec 26, 2017

This book started off very slowly, but by the end I felt invested in Hannah's story. Hannah misses her sister Katie, but also constantly remembers the times her sister did nothing to help her while she was being bullied. Their complex relationship is the crux of the book, even though most of the book takes place after her sister's death. Hannah doesn't trust anyone, and she struggles to accept the things that happen the day her sister died. There's a lot more going on in this book than it seemed at first.

b
biggles26
Aug 05, 2015

Yet again another fantastic novel by Claire Zorn!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top