Dragon Springs Road

Dragon Springs Road

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
8
Rate this:
Set in early-twentieth-century Shanghai, where, as an ancient imperial dynasty collapses, a new government struggles to life and two girls - one a Eurasian orphan, the other a daughter of privilege - are bound together in a friendship that will be tested by duty, honour and love.
Publisher: Toronto :, HarperAvenue,, 2017
Edition: First Canadian edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781443439374
Characteristics: 367 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Amy_MarkhamPL Oct 17, 2017

Page-turner historical fiction! I found Dragon Springs Road completely captivating and I couldn't put it down. GREAT NEWS: Janie Chang will be reading from this book and doing a Q & A at MPL's International Festival of Authors event on October 27, 2017. Tickets are $10.00 and can be purchased at any Markham Public Library location.

a
akzfineart
Oct 13, 2017

DRAGON SPRINGS ROAD by Janie Chang is a captivating and fascinating story! I love these sorts of books - historical fiction with fantastic elements. While the content is different, this is definitely for fans of THE GHOST BRIDE and THE GOLEM AND THE JINNI. I'm very excited to read Chang's other novel THREE SOULS.

h
heidielise
Aug 09, 2017

This book was super well written. Very detailed. It was a sad book, but all the detail made it seem more beautiful.

annie Jul 29, 2017

A great read, beautifully written and hard to put down.

e
Estha
Jul 20, 2017

A glimpse into a woman's China at the turn-of-the-century. Despite the suffering and longing, there is beauty and magic that sustain the young protagonist and the reader. Loved it!

s
starbucksmocha
Jul 05, 2017

Such a captivating book! I read from page 120 almost right to the end in one day! I just couldn't put it down. The writing is wonderful to read, the descriptions vivid but not too lengthy or tedious. I really had images in my head of how everything looked while reading. And the characters! Love them. I cared about what happened to them, even the minor characters. The twists and turns of Jialing's life kept me enthralled and I love Fox so much! According to the author's note she wasn't going to be such a main character initially and I'm glad that changed. I also loved all the history and detail about the time period, and the pacing was perfect. I've even got a hold on Three Souls since I want to read the author's other book now!
Highly recommend this book to anyone!

g
geordie18
Feb 14, 2017

Dragon Springs Road by Janie Chang is a wonderful, captivating read. It's the story of a young seven year old girl, Jialing, who is left abandoned by her mother in a large estate. The story takes place in the early 1900's in Shanghai, against the backdrop of the crumbling Imperial Dynasty and political unrest. Young Jialing is of mixed race , Eurasian, or " zazhong", the shameful word of that day. To be "zazhong " is to be regarded with much contempt and shame, as most zazhong are the product of prostitution of a Chinese woman and a European male. Jialing's prospects in life are frighteningly low.

A kindly family moves into the estate, and the family Matriarch, Grandmother Yang , takes seven year old Jialing into the household as a bond- servant. Though Jialing is well treated by Grandma Yang and her granddaughter Anjuin, Jialing is treated with disdain and jealousy by the other servants, as well as First Wife and Third Wife. Jialing has friend in Anjuin, but Anjuin is already arranged to be married, so Jialing knows her time in the household will be limited. A missionary is willing to take on Jialing for an education, a rare thing for any young Chinese girl of that era, but Jialing knows once again that any opportunity of employment will be scarce, due to her being of mixed race.

Jialing proves to be a strong willed person, as she searches for a stable future , as well for her mother and her origins.

Dragon Springs Road is a fascinating coming of age story, richly atmospheric and full of intriguing, well drawn characters. I really enjoyed being immersed into the culture and politics of early 1900's China .

I was swept away by this enthralling story.

f
fionajay
Feb 13, 2017

I loved this book. Its a spiritual, real and uplifting journey through life in turn of early twentieth century China, through the eyes of a young woman.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top