Chamber Music

Chamber Music

Elizabethan Sonnet-sequences and the Pleasure of Criticism

eBook - 1998
Rate this:
Arranged somewhat like a sonnet-sequence, in semi-sequential units, Chamber Music can be seen as following two streams. In the first instance, it presents a fresh and original discussion of the major Elizabethan sonnet-sequences: Sidney's Astrophil and Stella, Spenser's Amoretti and Epithalamion, and Shakespeare's Sonnets and Lover's Complaint. The sonnet-sequences are read in tandem with works of modern criticism, including those of Roland Barthes, Michel Riffaterre, Paul Ricoeur, Jacques Derrida, and Umberto Eco. The book is also an experiment in modern (as opposed to postmodern) criticism in which the content of the argument modifies the presentation.
Publisher: Toronto, Ont. : University of Toronto Press, Ă1998
ISBN: 9781442672826
Characteristics: 1 online resource (xi, 289 pages)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at NPL

To Top